Acorn After Fire

So, I met a newly kindled light;
Too comforting to trust at once, too deep and warm.
Then I had to meet myself again,
To see my newly ‘lumined face to search for harm.
I was whole and new, fresh and strong,
There was no hurt to me at all. I was immune.
But around me, all was burned and charred,
The landscape wrecked except for me in my cocoon.
All the dear, indifferent parts, some sad,
That were me and mine before, now burned and cold.
Light the way in which I turn today,
For all I had for good or worse has now been sold.
Burn the bridge that crossed the gap between,
For I have passed and can’t turn back despite the pain.
Life must fit a brand new set of laws;
The values of a former life no longer sane.
Plant the acorn. It will grow so strong
That nought can touch it but the Fate’s almighty hand.
Mortal man can’t break or bend one bow
Of this, the oak of love we have at our command.

PJE. April – 1976.

About peterjearle

Writer of thriller novels. 4 Published: 'Purgatory Road', 'The Barros Pawns', and the Detective Dice Modise Series:'Hunter's Venom' and 'Medicinal Purposed Only', all from Southern Africa.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

